UC San Diego Equity, Diversity, and Inclusion Advisory Council

Mission

The UC San Diego EDI Advisory Council works through the Vice Chancellor for Equity, Diversity, and Inclusion to advise the Chancellor on diversity with particular attention to institutional access and representation, campus climate and intergroup relations, and institutional transformation. The work of the Council supports campus efforts to become a more equitable, inclusive community where all feel welcome, supported, and able to thrive.

Charge

  • Through the Vice Chancellor for Equity, Diversity and Inclusion, advise the Chancellor on the appropriate equity and accountability goals to which UC San Diego should aspire in creating a diverse campus community and assess progress toward achieving those goals.
  • Identify those programs that can have the greatest positive impacts on campus diversity and advise on how our resources might best be utilized and coordinated to achieve the campus diversity goals.
  • Identify the barriers to achieving greater diversity at UC San Diego and provide recommendations on how we can overcome those barriers.
  • Review annual reports and other data regarding the state of student, faculty, and staff diversity and efforts to improve diversity at UC San Diego.
  • Assess how the UCSD Principles of Community and related campus regulations and policies are being applied and make recommendations on how to improve the communication of the Principles to faculty, students, and staff.
  • Act as a resource for the Chancellor, Vice Chancellors, Directors, and others for advice on programs and initiatives designed to improve UC San Diego’s diversity.
  • Provide a forum for the discussion of diversity-related issues and ideas and encourage a campus dialogue about diversity by periodically convening town meetings, offering seminars, and establishing a web page.
  • Examine and provide advice on best practices in academia.

Action Subgroups

The Action Subgroups listed below support monitoring of institutional progress with respect to diversity. Members will be added to these subgroups as expertise with particular issues is needed.

Climate and Intergroup Relations – Focus on challenges and opportunities related to climate

  • Quality of experience/engagement on campus, satisfaction
  • Type and quality of interaction among groups
  • Perceptions of institution (climate, commitment, fairness)

Access and Success – Focus on improving outcomes for historically underrepresented and marginalized students

  • Undergraduate/graduate student population by fields and levels
  • Pursuit of advanced degrees
  • Success of students: graduation, persistence, honors, STEM fields, etc.

Education and Scholarship (Chaired by Faculty Member) – Focus on ensuring diversity is an integral part of the academic mission

  • Presence of diversity-related courses, Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion (DEI) requirements

Institutional Viability and Vitality – Focus on transparency and accountability in our diversity efforts

  • Public and constituency perceptions of institutional commitment to diversity, equity
  • Framework and indicators for monitoring diversity
  • Centrality of diversity in the planning process, mission statements, program reviews
  • Institutional strategies and dedicated resources
  • Diversity of faculty, staff, and students by level
  • Advisory board diversity and engagement

Members

Council members are appointed by the Vice Chancellor for Equity, Diversity, and Inclusion in consultation with relevant campus units.

NAME

TITLE / OFFICE

EMAIL

Becky Petitt

Co-Chair, Vice Chancellor, Equity, Diversity and Inclusion

bpetitt@ucsd.edu

William McGinnis

Co-Chair, Dean, Biological Sciences

wmcginnis@ucsd.edu

Martin Boston

VP Diversity Affairs, Graduate Student Association

vpdiversity@gsa.ucsd.edu

Joanna Boval

Executive Director, Office of Students with Disabilities

jboval@ucsd.edu

Garrett Bredell

President, Graduate Student Association

president@gsa.ucsd.edu

Manuelita Brown

Representative, UCSD Alumni Association

manuelita@tsahaistudio.com

Jennifer Burney

Representative, Committee on Gender Identity and Sexual Orientation Issues

jburney@ucsd.edu

Cella Chung

Representative, SPACES

ccchung@ucsd.edu

Rachel Cook

Representative, Committee on the Status of Women

racook@ucsd.edu

Ricardo Dominguez

Representative, Committee on Diversity and Equity, Academic Senate 

rrdominguez@ucsd.edu

Cynthia Davalos

Student Affairs Representative

cdavalos@ucsd.edu

Annie Flager/PASA 

Chair, Pan-Asian Staff Association

aflager@ucsd.edu 

Steve Gallagher

Representative, SIO

sigallagher@ucsd.edu

Ben Grinstein

Department Chair, Physics

chair@physics.ucsd.edu

Daniel Juarez

President, Associated Students

aspresident@ucsd.edu

Kafele Khalfani 

Chair, Black Staff Association

kkhalfani@ucsd.edu

Chandler Puritty

Graduate Student At-Large

cpuritty@ucsd.edu

Emily Roxworthy

Council of Provosts

eroxworthy@ucsd.edu

Kaustav Roy

Chair, Academic Senate

academicsenatechair@ucsd.edu

Dan Suchy

Assistant Director, ACMS

dsuchy@ucsd.edu

Wendy Taylor May

Representative, Committee on the Status of Women

wstaylor@ucsd.edu

Andre Thompson

Undergraduate Student At-Large

a9thomps@ucsd.edu

Minh-Hieu Vu

AVP Equity, Diversity and Inclusion, Associated Students

asdiversity@ucsd.edu

Melissa Williams

Director, Disability Counseling & Consulting

melissawilliams@ucsd.edu

Ebonee Williams

Staff Member At-Large, Executive Director, Gordon Center

ebwilliams@ucsd.edu

TBD

Associate Vice Chancellor, Faculty Diversity and Equity

TBD

Representative, Student Affirmative Action Committee

TBD

Community Member At-Large

Meeting Minutes

The EDI Advisory Council meets four times per year (once per quarter during the academic year and a planning meeting during the summer) unless otherwise noted. Action Subgroups and any ad hoc committees may meet more frequently.

February 25, 2016 (PDF)

September 30, 2016 (PDF)